• Click to Register for Free Monthly Weight Loss Call
  • The Independent Musicians Guide to Music Business
    Stop Bitching about how you're not getting gigs, Stop complaining about Club owners not paying enough and for God sake STOP whining about why you're not Famous yet! Its time to start learning the business so you can begin ... MAKING A SCENE!
    • www.roszakradio.com
    • Good Sam Travel Assist
    • www.indiebible.com
    • MAGIX Software ACID Pro + Music Maker Premium
    • MAGIX Software
    • MAGIX Software Sound Forge Pro + Samplitude Pro X

Thornetta Davis Honest Woman

By Richard Ludmerer
In CD Reviews INDIE Blues
Feb 5th, 2017

Thornetta Davis

Honest Woman

Sweet Mama Music

Thornetta Davis was born in Detroit. Davis released her first full length studio recording “Sunday Morning Music” in 1996. Her song “Cry”, from that album, was featured in an episode of “The Sopranos”. She appeared at the Ann Arbor Blues and Jazz Fest and sang onstage with Bonnie Raitt. Davis’ follow-up recording was 1998’s a “Shout Out to The Dusthuffer”. At the Detroit Music Awards Davis was voted Outstanding Blues and R n’ B vocalist; in 2004, 2006, 2010, 2011 and 2014.

The album opens with “When My Sister Sings The Blues” a poem written by Thornetta’s sister Felicia that expresses how she feels when her sister sings. Recording engineer Brian Roscoe White accompanies her on solo guitar.

“I Gotta Sang The Blues” is the first of twelve originals written by Davis. Special guest Kim Wilson, harmonica, also shares the vocal on this song nominated for a 2017 Blues Music Award as “Song of The Year”. Rounding out the core band are Brett Lucas, guitar; James Simonson, bass; Phillip J. Hale, keyboards; Todd Glass, drums; and James Anderson, percussion. The lineup is featured again on “I Believe (Everything Gonna Be Alright”) and “Feels Like Religion” co-written with George Friend.

On five tracks a horn section is added. On “I’d Rather Be Alone”, “Can We Do It Again” and on the title track “Honest Woman” the horns are Dave McMurray, sax; and John Douglas, trumpet. “I Need a Whole Lotta Lovin to Satisfy Me” features James O’ Donnell, trumpet; and John Paxton, trombone. “Get Up and Dance Away Your Blues” includes Marcus Belgrave and Rayse Biggs, trumpet; and Edward Gooch, trombone. Throughout the recording the backing singers are marvelous but they’re too many to mention by name.

“That Don’t Appease Me” contains the lyric “Well you won’t touch me again, I don’t know where your hands have been, that don’t appease me, you ain’t gonna please me”. Lucas takes a great guitar solo while Todd Glass sits in on drums.

“Am I Just A Shadow” features Luis Resto on organ. “Sisters Friends Indeed” includes the rhythm section of Chuck Bartels, bass; and Dave Marcaccio, drums. “Set Me Free” features The Larry McCray Band with Larry, guitar; Steve McCray, drums; Kenny Clark, bass; and Chris Codish, keyboards.

Davis’ voice has been described as rich and warm. Nothing however can prepare you for this absolutely fabulous vocalist who is destined for success. This album is a must have for every fan of the Blues.

Richard Ludmerer





Comments are closed.

  • Subscribe to Blog via Email

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,254 other subscribers

    • IK Multimedia's Fender Collection 2
    • www.makingascene.org
  • Top 10 Posts on Making a Scene Today!

    • Free shipping and the guaranteed lowest price as SamAsh.com
    • www.makingascene.org
    • www.johnpaganoband.com
    • Register for Free Samples and Loops at Loopmasters.com
%d bloggers like this: