• Click to Register for Free Monthly Weight Loss Call
  • The Independent Musicians Guide to Music Business
    Stop Bitching about how you're not getting gigs, Stop complaining about Club owners not paying enough and for God sake STOP whining about why you're not Famous yet! Its time to start learning the business so you can begin ... MAKING A SCENE!
    • MAGIX Software ACID Pro + Music Maker Premium
    • www.indiebible.com
    • www.blues.org
    • Good Sam Travel Assist
    • MAGIX Software
    • www.roszakradio.com

Sonny Landreth Recorded Live in Lafayette

By Richard Ludmerer
In CD Reviews INDIE Blues
Aug 10th, 2017

Sonny Landreth

Recorded Live in Lafayette

Provogue/Mascot Label Group

Sonny Landreth was born in Canton, MS. but lived in Lafayette, La. for many years. He now resides in Breaux Bridge, La.

Landreth plays slide guitar but augments that by fretting behind the slide. His main influences include Robert Johnson, Charley Patton and Mississippi John Hurt. Landreth has recorded and played with Clifton Chenier, John Mayall, John Hiatt, Jimmy Buffet, Little Feat, and Mark Knopfler. Landreth is a two time Blues Music Award winner for Best Instrumentalist – Guitar having won that award in both 2009 and 2016.

This is Landreth’s first live recording in twelve years and 17th album overall. The band includes Landreth, guitar and vocals; Dave Ranson, ukulele bass; Brian Brignac, cajon; Steve Conn, accordion, and Sam Broussard, acoustic guitar.

This two cd album includes an acoustic set and an electric set. There are sixteen tracks in total. The acoustic set opens with “Blues Attack” the title track from Landreth’s 1981 debut recording. “Key To The Highway” one of Landreth’s favorite songs, is the classic written and first recorded by Big Bill Broonzy in 1960. “Creole Angel” is reprised from Landreth’s 1995 album “South of 1-10”. “Bound By the Blues” the title track from Landreth’s last album received a 2016 Blues Music Award nomination. The acoustic set closes with “The U.S.S. Zydeco-Oldmobile” from Landreth’s “Levee Town” album released in 2000.

The electric set opens with Landreth’s “Back To Bayou Teche” reprised from his 1992 album “Outward Bound”. “True Blue” first appeared on Landreth’s 2003 album “the Road We’re On”. “The Milky Way Home” is from his 2008 “From The Reach”. “The Walking Blues” is the Robert Johnson classic first recorded in 1937. “The One and Only Truth” that closes the album was written specifically for this project.

Landreth is among the very best of our slide guitarists. His style instrumentally and vocally is different from any of his contemporaries. This rockin’ live set also serves as a career retrospective. This is a must to own.

Richard Ludmerer






Comments are closed.

  • Subscribe to Blog via Email

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,258 other subscribers

    • IK Multimedia's Fender Collection 2
    • www.makingascene.org
  • Top 10 Posts on Making a Scene Today!

    • Free shipping and the guaranteed lowest price as SamAsh.com
    • www.makingascene.org
    • www.johnpaganoband.com
    • www.makingascene.org
    • Register for Free Samples and Loops at Loopmasters.com
%d bloggers like this: